Sun Sushi

I’ve been to Sun Sushi multiple times with friends – that is, multiple times without a camera! I do want to enjoy some of my meals without snapping pictures of everyone else’s food. I stopped in for a snack one afternoon after school – i.e., only a few pieces of sushi to squash a craving.

The sushi pieces here are enormous. DSC_0058 copyI know you are meant to eat each piece in one bite, but it is definitely more of a challenge to do so here than at some of the authentic sushi places (e.g., Shiro or Hitoe Sushi). That said, this is a great place to come for cheap, fresh sushi. I’ve never gotten sick eating here, and even though it isn’t “authentic”, the ingredients are always fresh and the portions generous. There are a number of great “bang for your buck” combos on the menu, too.

Ambiance is nothing special (kind of the opposite; there are menus plastered over the front window). Also, I think that there is an assumption – when you visit Sun Sushi – that you are there purely for the cheap sushi and nothing else. The service is pretty atrocious (the servers abandon you after you’ve been served, and they’re not particularly polite and tend to be rather brusque).

Sun Sushi’s great for students. Despite its shortcomings (impolite wait staff, lack of “authenticity”, etc. etc.) I’ll still keep coming back. It’s fast, it’s cheap, and conveniently close to UBC. Even if you have maybe an hour and a half until your next class, you could probably squeeze in a visit to Sun Sushi and make it to your next class on time. And your wallet won’t be noticeably lighter afterwards, either.

Ambiance: 2

Food: 4

Service: 2

Value: 4

Overall: 3.5

Sun Sushi on Urbanspoon

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Khanh on June 28, 2013 - 3:18 PM

    I like the food here too which is why I continually eat here during my breaks despite the level of service. I can see many people missing out on this place due to all the other restaurants along Broadway, but I’m glad my friend introduced me to this place!

Leave a comment