La Taqueria (Fairview)

I went to La Taqueria ages ago, but revisited it this past week and was reminded I still hadn’t written about it. It is one of those places, like Meat & Bread, that deserves to be written about right away after vising it; I’m just a slow blogger! Nevertheless, my first visit was so memorable that I could never forget how awesome it was, anyway.

The Chemist and I went here for a quick lunch, and I didn’t expect that it would be so small. It’s really not a sit-down restaurant, although there are tables and a counter to sit at. Most people would grab their order and go; still, all the tables were full when we went in, and so we sat at the counter.

Pescado:

Pescado Taco

I wasn’t too savvy at ordering here, and they are very fast-paced. So I ended up with two pescado tacos. No complaints here though, really; I really enjoyed the fish. It was moist and topped with a tasty pico de gallo and some sort of lime-spiked sour cream that both made the flavour “pop”. Of course I topped it with one of the salsas provided (and pickled onions, because I love pickled things) but, even without them, thought it was something I would order again – even though I normally hate sour cream. My only other complaint would be that I wished I’d actually thought through my order before asking, so I could have been a good food blogger and ordered four different types of tacos.

De Lengua:

De Lengua Taco

Definitely, definitely my favourite. I am someone who likes eating offal (so animal livers, kidneys, hearts, etc. – they are all extremely nutrient dense!), but even if I had not known this was beef tongue, I would have loved it. It was tender and delicious all by its lonesome. The condiments, as usual, take it over the top. The raw onions gave it a nice bite, and the salsa verde added a kick and acidity that went well with the soft beef tongue.

Get this! If not for the name, I doubt anyone could tell that this was beef tongue. One of the shopkeepers came over and asked us what our favourite taco was, and this was the one I told him. The Chemist also thought so, so I know I’m not just crazy.

De Cachete:

De Cachete Taco

The beef cheeks are a very close second favourite to the beef tongue, for me. Again, you wouldn’t know these are beef cheeks unless someone actually told you (or unless you know Spanish). I think it’s the condiments that made the tongue my favourite, since the de cachete actually had more flavour carrying through the beef alone than did the de lengua. Maybe because it was fattier? It was amazing, though you could taste the oil on your lips sometimes (which was not so amazing). I thought it could benefit from some chili powder or cumin or maybe some salt, since the cilantro and onion on top didn’t add too much extra flavour or dimension. I added a generous amount of salsa, which made it (in my opinion) worthy of five stars.

Al Pastor:

Al Pastor Taco

The Chemist ordered this! I normally don’t eat pork for a variety of reasons. At first glance, this looked really spicy. I mean, look at it; it’s red and everything! It was marinated with some spices, unlike some of the beef tacos, but tasted more like pungent tomato sauce. The onion was overshadowed by the pork, which – aside from tomatoes – tasted like bacon. This is totally understandable, of course; it is still pork. Still, the smokiness was quite strong and seemed to outdo any sweetness that might have come from the small amount of chopped pineapple or any bite from the raw onion. It was really good, nevertheless; The Chemist did end up adding salsa halfway through eating it.

Machacha Taco

Machacha:

Isn’t that fun to say? Machacha. This was a special of the day, and looked really similar to the taco with beef cheeks, only a little darker in colour. It was good, if a little bit drier than the other two beef tacos. This is the one taco that the Chemist added a lot of salsa to – one of the hotter salsas, too. It was supposedly slow-roasted, but didn’t really taste like it. It was a bit tougher, and tasted leaner than the de cachete. I would still, by far, opt for this over my least favourite flavour (the Rajas Con Crema Taco, which is like an assault of sour cream, blegh). It still lost out to the pescado, though, and was the one I would deem “most in need of salsa”.

Overall, I loved eating here! As I have mentioned, I have revisited it since my initial visit. I really like the atmosphere – not only “authentic”, what with all the Spanish being spoken behind the counter, but so friendly! – and the food is almost always great. The restaurant is bright, colourful, and really adds to the “cheerful” ambiance… even on rainy days (of which there are plenty). I also love that I am able to take my gluten-free friends here – the wait staff and manager have told me that their tacos are 100% corn-based. (The only things on the menu that contain wheat are the quesadillas… which I actually haven’t seen anyone order yet. Their tacos are just too good!) I am also a huge fan – as mentioned in other posts – of restaurants that go to the trouble of sourcing out local and free-range meats. Many restaurants that place on emphasis on quality, locally-sourced ingredients seem to follow through with that theme and produce quality, great-tasting dishes… and La Taqueria is definitely one of them.

Ambiance: 4

Food: 4.5

Service: N/A (but the counter attendants are definitely friendly, for the most part!)

Value: 4.5

Overall: 4.5

La Taqueria on Urbanspoon

, , , , , ,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

